Au-Pair to be

Did you ever think about being an Aupair, but you think you don’t have enough experiences, you don’t have a relationship with kids or you are afraid of the language barrier or culture shock?

Don’t worry. I have some stories to tell and then you can decide if it’s the life change you want, or not.

IMG_1548

My story officially started in May 2014 (it didn’t seem that long time ago until I wrote it down!). But many months before I was looking up options how to travel abroad and I always stumbled across this au-pair thing. I’ve always checked it out even tho I thought I’ve had barely any experiences with kids (later on I realized it is not true), and I was also underage, which is not necessarily a bad thing.  After I graduated I moved from my hometown to the capital city of Czech Republic to study English. Nothing fancy, just a language school. Needless to say, it didn’t teach me much. So I started looking up those travel abroad options once more. And guess what. As I was reading thru the au-pair criteria I found out that I am able to apply, since I went to kids camp as in instructor since I was 16 years old. Why didn’t it come to my mind earlier? I have honestly no idea.

And that was the night when I decided to apply. So I did. That night pretty much changed my life. I got in touch with the agency Cultural Care. My search for family started on the 11th of June. I went thru a couple families and got a ticket to New York City for the 20th of October.

I was nervous, anxious but I was so happy. It was my dream and it was coming true.

Today it is over 2 years since I got on the plane from Prague to New York City. I truly feel like it just happened yesterday.

Leave a Reply

